I thought I could…

“Anyone who imagines they can work alone winds up surrounded by nothing but rivals, without companions. The fact is, no one ascends alone.”   ~Lance Armstrong



… And I couldn’t have done it without you. THANK YOU.

Words cannot express how much I appreciate the outpouring of support and encouragement I’ve received since I signed up to participate in the LIVESTRONG Survivor Summit.

Some way, somehow, I’ll find the words to tell you about my trip. For now, I can’t help but look back on the experience with gratitude. It’s been a powerful reminder of how fortunate I am to have been given this amazing opportunity and to have such amazing people in my life, all of you included.

In the past seven months, you’ve showered me with love and I’m so grateful. You donated generously. You encouraged me. You picked me up when I needed support. You helped me when I needed guidance. You shared with me — about my mom, about your loved ones, about you.

I have been blessed by people who were once perfect strangers, that I am now proud to call lifelong friends. We came together for the first time in June, united by a cause that has touched each of us very personally. We talked, we laughed, we cried, we hugged, we climbed, WE SUMMITTED.  We returned from our trip two weeks later, forever bonded by a life changing experience and an unwavering commitment to ourselves, our loved ones and the fight against cancer.

I have felt as close to my mom as I had in the days immediately before and after she lost her 22-year battle with cancer. I now believe more than ever that she’s known about this climb long before I did. She showed herself in many ways before, during and after my trip, and I find comfort in knowing her spirit lives on.

I have grown to appreciate Lance Armstrong for using his celebrity to inspire, support and advocate for cancer and health related causes. Whether you love him or loathe him, whether he doped or he didn’t, it was his vision that led to the creation of LIVESTRONG, which has raised nearly $500 million in 15 years to fight cancer — a disease that has touched more of you than I can count.

THANK YOU, truly, for making this experience a reality for me. Thank you for touching my life, and the many others who will receive LIVESTRONG support because of your generosity.

Amen. Hallelujah. Right On. Shalom. Salaam. Namaste. LIVESTRONG.

One thought on “I thought I could…

Leave a Reply

